I Think an Update is Well-Deserved

Dateline: Columbus, Georgia

I’m a brewer.

Since I dropped this thing over a year ago, I’ve begun making beer on a commercial scale. Petite ‘lil ole me, who is the antithesis of the 250 pound, lumberjack-lookin’, manly beard growin’ brewer’s brewer. At the very least, I can say it’s light-years better than my previous position. I feel like it’s the culmination of everything I’ve ever thought about in a career. I’ve often thought it would be cool to have a career where I could make something physical– in my head, I briefly considered a career as a construction worker. I always knew a desk job would be out of the question–I just can’t sit still that long without going into a coma. I’ve loved being in the beer industry, and I knew I wanted to make a career of it, but I was just too big of a dummy to put two and two together.

And I love it. Here’s a list of the things I love about brewing:
Wearing a t-shirt and jeans to work
Getting dirty and finding yeast on me in weird places (like dried to my arm yesterday)
Writing recipes and getting creative with ingredients
Having bosses who let me get creative and experiment
Getting buzzed from my own beer
Blowing people’s stereotypes out the window
The smell of freshly milled grain in the morning
Appreciative comments from guests
Educating people about beer and getting them excited
Being able to work pretty much when ever I want/when the brewery calls for it

Right now I’ve got a couple things in the works, including
A lagering Oktoberfest, perhaps the first lager at The Cannon, newly dubbed ‘ONE-20’
An Imperial Brown Ale that’ll go on tap next Monday
Potentially bringing my beers to Emerald Coast Brew Fest
Potentially bringing my beers to Grovetoberfest
Giving a talk about something to do with being a woman in the beer industry at Savannah Craft Brew Fest

That last one is gonna be a doozy.

About Heather M.

Craft beer lover drinking in Columbus, Georgia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

